13th to 21st October 2017

Sounds Baroque - 'Casanova's Conquest'

Stephen Pettitt Libretto
Julian Perkins 
Recitatives and Arrangements 

Julian Perkins Director/harpsichord
Augusta Hebbert soprano
Anna Starushkevych mezzo soprano
William Towers countertenor
Andrew Davies bass-baritone 
Timothy West Narrator

Sophie Barber violin
Karin Björk violin 
Stefanie Heichelheim viola 
Elizabeth Bradley double bass
Arngeir Hauksson theorbo, guitar
Gail Hennessy oboe
Joel Raymond recorder

Ticket prices: £28, £25, £18, £12 (restricted viewing)

CONCESSIONS Half price tickets are available for this concert for children, and students in full-time education, aged 30 years and under. Please bring your Student Card to the concert.

(Not on sale)


An effervescent yet touching pasticcio opera that encapsulates Casanova, a libertine extraordinaire, gambler and musician. Chosen episodes are presented through a glorious selection of arias by composers from Handel to Mozart and Bellini plucked from their original contexts and given lively English texts.